top of page

REVIEW: Star Wars Resistance: "Breakout"


First, let me just say this, I liked this episode and thought it was an overall good episode. I also thought this episode worked off the cliffhanger of last week's episode well, and took new strides to showing how far Kaz has come in terms of being an effective rebel. That being said, everything you expect to happen in this episode to resolve the episode's plot does happen, which is something we've seen from Star Wars so many times before.

The thing is, from my perspective, I'm coming from seeing all the movies and all the recent TV shows, so if this is a kid's first experience to Star Wars, the things that happen in this episode can be viewed as an original, and gripping experience.

What do I mean from all this? Well, Yeager, Synara, and CB-23 are captured by the First Order, so it is up to Kaz and Norath to find a way to save them. How do they solve the problem? Well, tell me if you heard this setup before? They steal stormtrooper armor, and, get this, they sneak their way to the hostages to free them.

Keep in mind, I think everything in the episode was handled well, and like I mentioned before, this episode shows just how far Kaz has come in terms of his problem-solving, resourcefulness, and planning. That being said, the actual ideas of this episode have been done to death. The heroes stealing and sneaking around in armor, the bad guys trying to torture the good guys for information, reinforcements coming in at the last minute to save the day, and a droid becoming the real MVP for the situation.

If I wasn't so exposed to so many Star Wars stories that share the same elements, I probably wouldn't have minded the conclusion to this episode. Also, keep in mind too, I would rather have episodes be like this will an actual real threat and stakes for the galaxy, instead of betting in a race and...Kaz having a curse.

I also thought the animation and lighting in this episode were great, and I thought for the most part, the First Order was pretty intimidating...though I thought CB-23 was able to escape way too easily and conveniently for my liking.

I also thought the bounty hunter Ax was another highlight, who shows he can still be a worthy danger to the main characters. I doubt we will see him any more after this episode, but I would like to see him pop up again in the future.

Overall, I still liked this episode, but I thought the execution and solutions to the problems are things we've seen over and over again, and I know in situations like these, there aren't too many options Kaz could have done, as he couldn't have gone in guns blazing. I just wish the solution he came up with was more original.

bottom of page