top of page

REVIEW: Star Wars Resistance "Hunt on Celsor 3"


Much like last week's episode, I thought this week's episode of Resistance, "Hunt on Celsor 3," was average at best. However, I think this week's episode deals with less pressing matters overall, and instead spends the majority of its time going over childish matters.

The episode starts out with an interesting situation. Many people on the Colossus, including Aunt Z, are threatening to leave the station due to the lack of food. I like that the show is delving into a consequence from the decision to have the ship leave Castilon, and any scene dealing with Captain Doza's struggle to feed and protect his people was handled well.

However, for the first act of the episode, we have to deal with Kragan and his pirate crew. I'm going to cut straight to the point, minus Synara, who I like as a character, I can't stand these pirates. They are the most stereotypical, annoying pirates in a kids show I've seen in a long time. I know I used to complain a little about Hondo's antics in Rebels, but I least overall like the character, and would take him any day of the week over these clowns.

The pirates decide to try and kill the creature from the last episode, hoping to get in the people's good graces. However, they fail, and two of the pirates seem to have been knocked down and killed. Spoiler alert, they survived...sadly.

Kaz and Torra decide to use a high-powered cannon to shoot down the beast from its underside on the planet. However, low and behold, Torra's pet Buggles sneaks aboard Kaz's ship, and gets loose on the planet with the threat of being eaten.

If you've seen...any kids show, you know how the rest of the storyline will go. The creature will attack and threaten to eat the cute little pet, but the main hero, in this case Kaz, shoots and kills the creature at the last minute.

While I do always like the interplay between Kaz and Torra, and visually, the episode looked really good when on the planet, the final act mainly dealt with childish slapstick from Kaz, which got old to me pretty quickly. I don't mind the occasional slapstick, considering the target audience for the show, but I thought we were passed the point of Kaz acting like a buffoon.

In the end, thanks to the work of Kaz and Torra, the Colossus has enough food for awhile, and the passengers decide to stay for now. Overall, I liked some things about the episode, but most of it I thought was pretty standard, or worse, annoying. I just hope we get more episodes with the First Order, and less to do with the pirates.

bottom of page