top of page

REVIEW: Star Wars Resistance "Into the Unknown


Star Wars Resistance kicked off its second, and final, season with its premiere episode, "Into the Unknown." This episode kicks off immediately following the events of the first season's finale, with the Colossus barely escaping the First Order, and jumping off into hyperspace to try and go to the Resistance base on D'Qar.

Overall, I thought the episode was OK. I think it will lead to far more interesting stories later in the season, but as far as this episode is concerned, it was fairly average.

The majority of the episode dealt with the consequences of the Colossus taking damage during the First Order battle. The ship is out of hyperspace fuel, and many of the ship's systems and technology is out of order, such as the gravity systems. In that regard, I liked that element of the episode a lot, as to me, it followed through with not only the people of the Colossus and how they're handling the new situation that they're in, but it also shows that the ship was never meant to fly again, and that to become a flying ship again, a lot of trials need to be dealt with.

All aspects of the episode dealing with that I thought was handled well, and I hope we see Kaz and the other leaders of the ship deal with the consequences from the choices they made by other members of the Colossus... and not just seeing them party in a bar in zero gravity.

Sadly, the other major part of the episode dealt with Kaz, CB-23, Torra, and Neeku dealing with the First Order BB droid that was left on board. While I thought there was good tension for the droid trying to send a relay message to the First Order, the actual fight I thought was a little ridiculous.

You mean to tell me the four of them have this much trouble taking down a small droid? Granted, some of the action sequences were pretty creative with the droid, but still, it's not like it's a squadron of stormtroopers or Kylo Ren...it's a small droid.

Plus, the idea of the two droids fighting each other was done already not only in Rebels, but was one of the earliest episodes of The Clone Wars. Of course, the droid gets launched into space, which means there's a chance the First Order could recover it.

Of course, the side plot of the episode shows Tam fully committing herself to the First Order, by not only becoming a pilot, by helping them track down her former friends and the Colossus. I've stated before that I'm not the biggest fan of the character, but I loved the twist of her joining the First Order.

I like the idea of her becoming a villain, a villain that is sympathetic and will likely get redeemed at the end, but a villain nonetheless. I can't wait to see the inevitable pilot showdown between her and Kaz.

Like I said before, this episode was fine, but it felt more like a stepping stone for the rest of the season. There are a lot of intriguing ideas going forward, and I'm curious to see how the series will play out and lead into the events of The Rise of Skywalker.

bottom of page