top of page

Top Five Solo: A Star Wars Story moments


Well, now I am finally caught up to my series of my top five moments from each live-action Star Wars film. After re-watching the film recently, I can say that I wish the film did better at the box office. I can totally understand why the film bombed, and I don't think it's the best Star Wars film...but at the same time, the film is a fun science-fiction, western-style film, that had a lot of great moments and fan service. Granted, a lot of convenient moments that makes all the things you want to see with Han Solo in a few days, but fun moments regardless.

5. Opening Corellia chase

To me, the film got off to a fun and thrilling start with a street chase through the streets of Corellia. The action, to me, was well-shot and animated, with great music and a great sense of tension. It also sets up the main motivation of Han early on, wanting him to become a pilot to rescue Qi'ra and prove himself to the galaxy.

4. "Droid revolution" on Kessel

You know the classic phrase from Anchorman, "That escalated quickly?" Well, that's this sequence in a nutshell. Han, Beckett, and their crew contrive a plan to steal fuel from the spice mines of Kessel. However, things go wrong pretty quickly once L3-37, who champions droid rights, starts what she calls a "droid revolution," which in turn starts a full-on riot in the facility.

In total, the action sequence is well shot and executed, (even if the lighting could be better in certain shots), with fun gun-slinging action with a fun highlight of Chewbacca ripping someone's arms out their sockets and body-slamming someone on their neck. Overall, I thought the scene was fun, insane, and set the stage for the rest of the movie.

3. Train heist

This scene was just pure fun. In theory and set-up, it's a full-on, old-school train heist, with bandits and robbers, and sacrifices...just with a "Star Wars" twist. And you know what, to me, it works. Granted, I didn't really care for Val and Rio's deaths, since we barely knew them, but otherwise, I thought this sequence was well-shot, with both great practical and CGI action.

2. Darth Maul appears

I remember watching this scene for the first time in theaters, and absolutely losing my mind over it. For the casual audience that only watches the main movies, they were obviously confused as to why a villain they thought died is suddenly alive. However, for somebody like me, who watched the Clone Wars and Rebels, not only does his inclusion make sense thematically, but it helps connect the main Star Wars canon together.

Granted, it was a huge risk placing him in the movie for that reason, but I'm glad they included it. I just hope the story of Maul and Qi'ra continues in some shape of form, whether it be a comic, novel series, or Disney+ show.

Honorable mentions

Before my number one pick, here are some honorable mentions:

-- Meeting Lando and the Sabacc game

-- Han meeting and escaping with Chewbacca

-- Han and Qi'ra in Lando's closet

-- The truth of Enfys Nest

-- Final battle with Dryden Vos

-- Han shoots first

I also have one dishonorable mention: HOW HAN GOT HIS LAST NAME AS SOLO

1. The Kessel run

When this film was announced, one of the things people wanted to see was the famous Kessel run that was mentioned in A New Hope, to see how he made it in less than 12 parsecs. Well, after all these years, I can say that for me, the wait was worth it.

I loved the drama and action, specifically how L3 connects to the original trilogy in a way, and I also loved how the actual "run" was not what I was expecting, as it wasn't a traditional space route, rather, it was a fight for survival that made it in a record distance.

bottom of page