top of page

Top 5 A New Hope Moments


Well, today is a big day in not just Star Wars history, but also pop culture history as well. Today marks the 40th anniversary of A New Hope (or just Star Wars if you're old enough) being released worldwide, thus making it the 40th anniversary of the franchise. As such, I will be kicking off a monthly series where I will count down my top five favorite moments from each live action film, from A New Hope to Rogue One. This will all lead up to the release of The Last Jedi in December. These are just my subjective favorite moments, so if your favorite isn't on here, let me know.

5. Obi-Wan vs Vader

Yes, by today's standards, this duel is pretty laughable. However, let's not forget, this IS the very first lightsaber duel. However, what I love most about this moment is not so much the duel itself, but rather the emotion behind it. It's former master vs apprentice. Also, considering what we've gotten over the years to further flesh out the relationship between Obi-Wan and Anakin (Vader), it makes the duel all the more powerful. Plus, the ending, which, I guess spoiler alert for a 40-year-old movie, where Obi-Wan sacrifices himself is one of the most emotional moments of the original trilogy.

4. The Opening

The opening of A New Hope has become iconic. The small rebel vessel outrunning the overly-sized and intimidating star destroyer, the blaster fight between rebel and Imperial troops, the intense shot of Vader entering the battle, to Leia's brave last stand, it's the perfect kickstart to not just the movie but to the franchise as well.

3. Death Star Chase

Specifically, I like the part where Luke and Leia fight off stormtroopers while eventually swinging from the raptors. I don't know why, but I've always liked this moment. From Luke's cleverness, to Leia's blaster skills, to the perfect musical score by John Williams, it just perfectly captures the thrill of the action and the chase. Also, Han and Chewie's escape from squads of troopers was also a classic moment as well.

2. The Award Ceremony

After the entire movie of the rebellion being crushed, the heroes put in peril and taking losses, and nearly losing their last bit of hope, it only makes sense for the film to end with the heroes victorious and on a triumphant note. We all know the sequence, we all love it. Just...don't watch the moment on YouTube with the music off. It's one of the most awkward things I've seen.

Before I give my number one moment, here are some honorable mentions. Binary sunset. It's one of the most iconic moments of the saga as well as one of John Williams' best scores. "Your father's lightsaber." It's the sequence that first introduced us to not only the lightsaber but also to the idea of the force as well. Stormtrooper hits head. They literally could not have afforded reshoots so they had to keep that goof in the film...and I'm so glad they did!

1. "Use the Force Luke"

The entire Battle of Yavin sequence is a monumental and technical achievement in filmmaking. It was tense, it was entertaining, and more importantly, it was the perfect climax to the film. However, if I had to pick my favorite moment, it has to be the conclusion. I mean, Luke Skywalker, goes from a simple farm boy to hero of the rebellion. Han Solo comes in to save the day at the last minute and the Death Star is destroyed just in time. It's a classic moment from a classic film.

Look, I'll admit, A New Hope is not a perfect film. However, it has stood the test of time and has been shown by generations of fans and will be continued to be shared for another 40 years. Happy 40th Birthday Star Wars! Here's to your 50th birthday and, if I live long enough, it's 100th birthday!

bottom of page