top of page

REVIEW: Kyuranger 2


Kyuranger keeps the momentum going in episode two, with the introduction of two new team members and the gradual conditioning of viewers to get them used to Lucky crying “Lucky!” all the time. Okay, I’ll admit that Lucky was actually pretty great in this episode – and that the show (thankfully) toned down his usage of his favorite catchphrase.

Lucky’s decision to “leave” the Kyurangers to have fun (read: commit crimes) with Balance and Naga was funny – as was Garu’s reaction, which was full faith that Lucky knew what he was doing…even though he definitely doesn’t, as displayed by the later scene of Lucky being prepared for his execution. I hope that Garu’s trust in him doesn’t become his defining trait – I enjoy when Blues and Reds conflict, and it would also make a potentially cool character very boring. Maybe I shouldn't worry much, as Garu was also able to display his hot-headed nature in this episode, attacking the powerful Menaster Eridron head-on.

The newest Kyurangers, Balance and Naga, are tons of fun. The criminal-buddy duo make a great addition to the team. Naga immediately endeared himself to me as the kind but awkward one, but by the end of the episode I also found myself liking Balance. Balance’s Libra suit design is awesome, as well as his criminal-with-a-conscience vibe.

Naga is a perfect foil to Balance, but I am a bit worried about how the show will work out Naga’s inability to express emotions; currently he seems like a lovable Vulcan rip-off who sometimes looks like he is already very capable of having emotions. I don't envy his actor, who I think is doing his best and is at least coming across as extremely likable.

I must admit my disappointment in Hammy so far. Soon I think she’ll beat Lucky for most annoying character. I guess I was hoping for more because she is the only human female character in the show. Maybe I got lucky with Zyuohger, in which both Amu and Sela were more interesting. Raptor shares Hammy’s aggressive nature, but it is somehow much more tolerable. However, we haven’t seen much of what Hammy can do as a galactic ninja with chameleon powers, so I’ll keep my fingers crossed.

Weak female characters aside, I really like this show. And when I really like a show, I think about why and it is usually because it reminds me of another show that I enjoyed. In the case of Kyuranger, I am seeing great similarities to one of my favorite shows, Voltron. Both have an evil empire that has taken over the galaxy, and both have empire commanders/bosses protecting each system. Lucky as a Leo/Lion makes this feeling even greater, as does the sense of humor through both. Even the world-building is great; I'd even argue that Kyuranger does an even better job at creating detailed, unique new worlds.

Ultimately I hope that the show stays interesting after all of the Kyurangers are assembled. The end fight against the Malistrate Gammetsui wasn’t boring, but it also wasn’t very exciting. It didn’t help that the CGI for Gold and Silver’s Voyagers looked…out of place. But Menaster Eridron provided a great challenge against the Kyurangers, a challenge that they aren’t yet ready to beat. I suppose as long as they don’t get rid of that awesomely catchy ending theme song (with the booty shaking), I’ll probably keep watching no matter what.

bottom of page